Site Logo
Looking for girlfriend > 50 years > How to find a persons marriage license

How to find a persons marriage license

Site Logo

In-depth research of ownership, minerals, liens and easements in Texas and New Mexico. Searching marriage certificates is easier than ever with the introduction of online databases containing courthouse records. However, you may need to visit the courthouse yourself if you cannot find the records online. Not all records have been digitized.

SEE VIDEO BY TOPIC: Find a Marriage Record using FamilySearch

Content:
SEE VIDEO BY TOPIC: Free Marriage Records

Marriage License

Site Logo

Marriage Licenses are currently being issued on an emergency basis only. To request an appointment please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Listed below are answers to some of the most commonly asked questions we receive from couples ready to take this important step. If you need additional assistance, please contact us at See our search page to find information on marriage licenses and domestic partnerships that have been issued in Travis County.

There is a required 3-day waiting period between the time a marriage license is obtained and the ceremony Texas Family Code, Chapter 2, Section 2. The marriage ceremony may not take place during the hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license unless an applicant:.

A marriage license is valid for 89 days from the date it is issued. A marriage license expires if it has not been used before the 90th day after it was issued. If a couple wishes to marry after the expiration date, a new license must be purchased. A person meeting the above requirements does not need to apply for permission to marry couples and does not need to register with the County Clerk.

List of local judges who perform marriage ceremonies. If divorced, and the divorce was finalized within the previous 30 days, an applicant must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree which states that the day waiting period has been waived. Note: The Texas Twogether Program allows applicants to waive a portion of the marriage license fee if they complete a premarital education course and provide a certificate that the course was completed not more than one year before the date of the marriage license.

Additionally, a member of the National Guard on federal active duty, or a member of the armed forces of the United States on active duty, who is preparing to be deployed to serve in a hostile fire zone as designated by the United States Secretary of Defense is exempt from marriage license fees. Texas law does allow certain exceptions to the requirement that both applicants appear before the County Clerk to apply for a marriage license.

In such situations, another adult may apply on behalf of the absent applicant. The adult present needs to provide some form of ID for the absent applicant.

In most cases, this will require the completion of one of the following affidavits:. If you have questions regarding these forms or a situation not described above such as the inability of both applicants to appear , please contact our office at Effective September 1, Texas Family Code 2.

Please contact our office at for information. The Travis County Clerk maintains the county's records, administers elections, and oversees legal documentation such as property deeds, marriage licenses and assumed name certificates. Commissioners Home Contact Information. Marriage Licenses. Home Recording Marriage and Domestic Partnerships. Marriage Licenses Update.

The marriage ceremony may not take place during the hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license unless an applicant: Is a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty, Performs work for the United States Department of Defense as an employee or contract worker, Obtains a written waiver from a judge of a court with jurisdiction in family law cases, a justice of the supreme court, a judge of the court of criminal appeals, a county judge, or a judge of a court of appeals, or Completes a premarital education course described by Texas Family Code Section 2.

Marriage License Expiration A marriage license is valid for 89 days from the date it is issued. Persons Authorized to Conduct Marriage Ceremonies In Texas, the following persons are authorized to conduct marriage ceremonies: A person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized by the organization to conduct a marriage ceremony, or A justice of the supreme court, judge of the court of criminal appeals, justice of the courts of appeals, judge of the district, county, and probate courts, judge of the county courts at law, judge of the courts of domestic relations, judge of the juvenile courts, retired justice or judge of those courts, justice of the peace, retired justice of the peace, judge of a municipal court, retired judge of a municipal court, or judge or magistrate of a federal court of this state, or retired judge or magistrate of a federal court of this state.

For more proof of identity and age options, please call our office at The Social Security Number of each applicant if the applicant has one.

Applicants do not need to show a Social Security Card. If a previously-divorced applicant wishes to use her maiden name, she will need to provide identification showing that maiden name such as a certified copy of her birth certificate or a certified copy of her divorce decree that states her name is to be changed.

Following the ceremony, the person authorized to conduct the service must date, sign, and note the county where the ceremony occurred on the certificate. Once the office receives the license, it will be copied and filed and the original will be returned to you. Special Circumstances Proxy Marriage or Absent Applicant Texas law does allow certain exceptions to the requirement that both applicants appear before the County Clerk to apply for a marriage license.

In most cases, this will require the completion of one of the following affidavits: Instructions for Affidavit of Absent Applicant Affidavit of Absent Applicant If you have questions regarding these forms or a situation not described above such as the inability of both applicants to appear , please contact our office at

Public Records

In California a couple must obtain a Marriage License before a ceremony is performed. Couples must appear in person with valid picture Identification. Foreign or International Driver's Licenses are not accepted. The Marriage License is valid for 90 days and you must use the license before or on the expiration date.

If you are like most people, you might not have been aware that public records even exist. However, if you are working on legal matters, genealogy research, government policy, or getting a copy of a marriage certificate you might find yourself looking for public records.

Marriage Licenses are currently being issued on an emergency basis only. To request an appointment please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Listed below are answers to some of the most commonly asked questions we receive from couples ready to take this important step.

How to Find United States Marriage Records

Unless you have a confidential marriage record, marriage licenses are generally considered public record and available to anyone. Generally, you can access the license through placing a request through the proper channels. Note, depending on the state, you may be required to have one of the parties whose license you are inquiring about to give consent before you can access the marriage license. Gather as much personal information as possible. This includes the names of both spouses, marriage date and the state and county where the marriage took place. Contact the county where the marriage took place. Some counties have electronic copies available to download.

Marriage Licenses

Not all vital records are open to the public. While the provisions of the U. Vital Statistics Act indicate that these records can be accessed by interested persons, the right of public access to vital records is not absolute. As such, selected vital records may be restricted from public disclosure, but available to specific persons.

.

.

State Records

.

.

.

In California a couple must obtain a Marriage License before a ceremony is performed. Couples must appear in person with valid picture Identification.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Comments: 2
  1. Nami

    Very valuable idea

  2. Nikree

    In it something is. Thanks for an explanation. All ingenious is simple.

Thanks! Your comment will appear after verification.
Add a comment

© 2020 Online - Advisor on specific issues.